If you read my last post, you already know that Tristen has finally left... (and if you haven't, Tristen moved home. details are there if you want them) and it was really hard. Really hard. Aaaand I cried for a bit... but then I realized something/it came back to mind; Wednesday, when we found out that she wasn't going to finish out the year and I couldn't stop my heaving sobs, she looked at me, shook her head, and said, "I can't make myself cry when I know that this is right... Neither should you." Okay, ah, cool? ... Cool?
Haha, I'll tell you what, it definitely stopped me - for the time being; I cried quite a bit later on. But she's RIGHT! And that's what I realized today! There's no point in being sad about what never was, about decisions you know are right, about what you can't control. There's really no point. Someone/something (depending on your religious beliefs) laid this whole thing out for us... to live. Not mourn, not cry, not procrastinate, live.
I'm tired of crying, my head is swollen to the size of an overgrown musk melon and isn't doing much better for wear. I've had this everlasting headache, pretty much since 5:15 pm, Wednesday evening, and I'm tired of it. This sort of living isn't living at all... so, I'm going to stop dwelling on what I'm going to miss about not having Tristen around, I'm going to stop mourning her leaving, stop thinking about how we've lost a member of our family (we have, physically speaking, but in reality, she's not gone at all. We'll always have Skype! Haha) and above all, I'm going to stop ignoring the here and now. This is ridiculous, I tell you, ridiculous!
I finished a book, this past weekend, called The Alchemist. For those of you haven't read it yet, please do. It's incredible! And the source of this "get-up-and-go" feeling I've been experiencing. At one point, one character is speaking to another, instructing him on how to find "his Personal Legend" (ultimate destiny/dream/self) and states that it's impossible to reach unless he focuses on the present moment and enjoys it to its fullest, thinking, as much as humanly possible, on the positive and the good, on what he's been blessed with... And from there, to basically take it and run! You've been given a gift, now show your appreciation for it by making the most of your life.
I'm not exactly succeeding - 100%, at least - right now, but I'm certainly trying my hardest... And I'll tell you what, it's making quite the difference. It all kicked in at... about.... 11:30, this morning? And yet, I already feel better about things. :) I'll keep this updated on how it's working out for me... but in the meantime, you try it too. I have this feeling that if everyone in the world were striving for the same thing, it'd be that much easier to reach the end goal. Help me help you help everyone else...
Please? :)
Oh, and wherever you are, out there in the world, just know... that I love you. There's a constant prayer in my heart, for you, in hopes that your day is just a little bit better.
No comments:
Post a Comment