This world we live in... is so screwed up. I mean, really. I know we all hear that all the time... but seriously, we live in one messed up environment. And as psychology (and life) so often states, "we are products of our environments." What, ladies and gentlemen, does this say about ourselves? Yes, you guessed it, we are screwwwed uppp. Now, let me tell you why.
I was in my literary theory class, the other day, and we were having a discussion on feminist perspectives when this kid/guy/man interjects his oh so humble opinion: that women WANT to be stereotyped and degraded... They WANT to see naked women on TV, photoshoped images in the media, and ads flaunting a woman for sexual purposes only. According to this... "man"... women WANT to be descended upon! We WANT to be viewed as LESS of an individual, a human being. Why? Are you wondering why? Oh, if you're not, you should be. Because this all sounds completely ludacris, correct? Well, here's his reasoning: women want a reason to complain, women need a crutch at all times, therefore, the females of the world are begging to be nothing more than damsels in constant distress. (Hopefully those italics and capital letters are getting to you, a little; they're there for a reason.)
I was so outraged when he made this claim, words can't even begin to describe the feeling of hot fury that roiled up from my stomach into my throat. I was so outraged and confused by the shock of what was just said, that it wasn't until later that I actually took the time to see his point of view and eventually come to the conclusion that... this kid was on to something.
Obviously he was generalizing, which is what you have to do, sometimes, in life/philosophy, but if you think about this, it really is widely applicable, if not to one particular woman (or yourself, if you are indeed female). I'll admit, perhaps not readily at first, that even I tend to fall into the convention. It's just like on He's Just Not That Into You, when they're discussing the need for drama, whether it's almost getting charged that late fee on your credit card bill or trying to date those guys who just aren't interested, women, as a generalized whole, crave the stress, and thus adrenaline, that come from having a wee bit of drama in their lives.
"Okay, you say," maybe even while nodding your head in agreement to the above passage. "I can see that.. I can see where you're coming from with that last one. But where in the world would you ever agree that women want to be degraded?? (I've seen the movie, I know it's right...) But I mean, seriously! Come on!" You've waited patiently enough, and now, I shall tell you.
Even the shoddiest of detective work will produce the same result, I can guarantee it: Men degrade the women around them, in one form or another (even if unintentional, they seem to always be doing it), upset the women they've just affronted, and BOOM! They, the female victims, have something to complain about, something to analyze, something to get riled up about. And the truth of the matter is this: it's FUN. So we go back for more... and more... and more. We're going back for more degredation. How on earth is this progressive?? I dare say it isn't. Wear all the pants you want, burn as many bras as you possibly can, but as long as you stay in any sort of unequal relationship - male OR female - or allow an issue of inequality to get under your skin enough that the chemical reaction from which makes you crave more, you've handed yourself over to the dark side.
So really, ladies, when we rant about our feminist theories on equality and liberation... when we chew a man out for being so pompous and egotistical, and for ignoring the female perspective entirely, are we supporting the cause? Or are we really just feeding society exactly what it's looking for, this time on a polished, silver spoon, heaped up with all of our greatest dreams and ambitions? Think on it.
Wednesday, February 17, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment